Poetry

War Zone

I threw myself into the fray

Ready to strike, stab and slay !

In the dangerous play, much to my dismay,

My kin slaughtered; The kingdom ceded

Handed over in a gilded golden tray.

I’m cast Adrift , due to a familial rift,

Would you believe ? I still have

warriors to gift and spirits to lift.

Hear the percussions of the death rattle-

Haunting reminders of the long gone battle.

Alas. I have not a moment to mourn,

The monstrosities acrid fate has thrown.

For I have a land to rule,

And unwilling subjects to school.

Standard

5 thoughts on “War Zone

  1. Pingback: Author Interview – A.G. Kirkham – “Guard: Satan’s Pride Series” (Contemporary Romance) | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Leave a Reply

